• 9849-xxx-xxx
  • noreply@example.com
  • Tyagal, Patan, Lalitpur

nancy List of 10 Different Types of Pregnancy

Pregnancy seems like a simple term. Pregnancy is supposed to occur naturally when a couple wants to start a family. It can take a lot of energy, patience, time and effort to get pregnant. And even then, there may be different types of pregnancies. There are many types of pregnancies.


There may be a variety of reasons why a pregnancy might occur, including physical differences in the reproductive system or multiple eggs being released, multiple sperms fertilizing one egg, and health problems.

Continue reading to find out more about the different types of pregnancies that women can experience.

Different Pregnancy Types in Women

  1. Intrauterine Pregnancy

This is normal pregnancy. The fertilized embryo or embryos are implanted in the main cavity of a uterus. The placenta forms eventually to aid the embryo’s development into a baby.

  1. Molar Pregnancy

Molar pregnancies occur when the embryo and placenta develop abnormally. The placenta tissue could become a tumor. There are two types of molar pregnancy: complete and partial. A complete molar pregnancy is one in which the placenta has been formed abnormally and no embryo supports it. Partial molar pregnancy is when both the embryo and placenta are not normally formed. An molar pregnancy is when the fertilized egg contains an additional set of chromosomes. As the foetus is unable to develop safely and healthy, this can lead to miscarriage or planned abortion.

  1. Tubal or Ectopic Pregnancy

Ectopic pregnancy is when the fertilized egg is implanted outside of the main cavity of a uterus. This can be the neck or abdomen of the uterus. Most cases of ectopic pregnancy involve the embryo being embedded in the Fallopian tube, which transports the egg to the uterus. Ectopic pregnancy can be dangerous for both the baby and the mother. The baby will not develop normally and could even endanger the mother’s health. An abortion may be necessary if the miscarriage doesn’t occur naturally.

  1. Intra-Abdominal Pregnancy

When the embryo is placed outside of the abdominal cavity’s wall, it is called intra-abdominal. The embryo is usually implanted first in the uterus, Fallopian tube, and then it slides out or ruptures. The scar from a C-section can become weaker or tear and allow the foetus slip into the abdominal cavity. There are some intra-abdominal pregnancy that go undiagnosed and the chance of the foetus not being born is high. After birth, a complete hysterectomy might be necessary.


  1. Singlet Pregnancy

A singlet is when only one egg is fertilized with one sperm and one foetus is born.

  1. Multiple Pregnancy

Multiple pregnancies are when more than one embryo is formed and placed in the uterus. Take twins as an example. One egg fertilized with one sperm will divide into two embryos. This creates identical twins who share the same genetic makeup. Fraternal twins (non-identical), are created when two eggs are fertilized with two different sperm. They do not share the exact same genetic makeup. Multiple foetuses can be formed by fertility treatments.

  1. High-Risk Pregnancy

High-risk pregnancy means that the woman is over 35, is diabetic, has multiple foetuses or has health conditions that could impact her and the baby. High-risk pregnancy can also be defined as one that requires medication to manage the health condition. High-risk pregnancy could also be caused by past complications during childbirth.

  1. Lupus Pregnancy

A lupus-pregnancy is a high-risk type of pregnancy. Lupus, an auto-immune disorder that can make pregnancy more difficult by increasing the likelihood of preeclampsia. To avoid complications and surprises, a Lupus diagnosis must be made before the pregnancy.

  1. Chemical Pregnancy

This is the medical term for a premature termination of a pregnancy. It occurs within a few days after implantation. After the egg is fertilized and placed in the uterus it ceases growing and developing shortly after. This happens before ultrasounds can detect the foetus’ heartbeat.

  1. Breech Pregnancy

Breach pregnancy is when the foetus’s head lies at the top of its uterus and its feet, or bottom, face the cervix or birth canal. Normal pregnancy will see babies moving with their heads towards and towards the birth canal in preparation for giving birth. There are three types: complete, frank and incomplete (footling) breech pregnancies. They all depend on the position of the foetus. Multiple foetuses can cause a breach pregnancy (twins or triplets). A distorted uterus, abnormally-shaped placenta, too much or too few amniotic fluids that affect the foetus’s movement and other factors can all lead to a breach pregnancy.

There is so much you can learn about pregnancy. There are many types of pregnancies. When pregnant, a woman should have regular checks-ups. It is important to plan your pregnancy carefully and monitor for any pre-existing conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *